REGISTRATION:

Registration Fee : PRE Registration is compulsory for in-house participants however on the spot registration may be done as given below: Teachers and Scientists: Rs. 500/- only. Student Registration: 200/- only

ORGANIZING COMMITTEE

PATRON-IN-CHIEF: Prof. R.P. Hooda (Vice Chancellor) PATRON: Prof. S.K. Gakhar (Dean, Faculty of Life

Sciences)

CONVENER: Dr. P. Shukla (HOD, Microbiology) ORGANIZING SECRETARIES:

- Dr. K.K. Sharma, Dr. Rajeev K. Kapoor
- **CO-ORGANIZING SECRETARIES:**
- Dr. Bijender Singh, Mrs. Pooja Madan
- Dr. Sanjay Kumar, Dr. Pooja Gulati
- Dr. Anita Santal,

INTERDISCIPLINARY COMMITTEE MEMBER: Dr. Archana Garg, Dept. of Chemistry

Dr. Ashish Dahiya, IHTM, MDU, Rohtak

ADVISORY COMMITTEE:

Prof. Ravindra Vinayak, Dean, Academics Prof. Kamla Chaudhary , Prof. Emeritus Prof. S.N. Mishra, Former Dean, Life Sciences Prof. Daleep Singh, Dept. of IHTM Prof. Prem Singh, Dept. of Library Sciences Prof. P.K. Jaiwal, Director, CBT Dr. K.K. Verma, Director, Research Prof. Arun Nanda, Dean, Dept .of Pharm. Sciences Prof. Rajesh Dhankar, Dept. of Env. Sciences Dr. Rajesh Dabar, Dept. of Biochemistry Dr. (Mrs.) Anita Rani Sehrawat, Dept. of Botany Prof. J.P. Yadav, Dept. of Genetics Prof. Pushpa Dahiya, Deptt. of Botany Dr. (Mrs.) Meenakshi, Dept. of Zoology Prof. Vineeta Shukla, Deptt. of Zoology Dr. B.S. Yaday, Deptt. of Food Technology Dr. J.S. Laura, Dept. of Env. Sciences

PROGRAMME: Registration: 09.00 HRS- 10.00 HRS Inauguration: 10.00 HRS- 10.30 HRS

KEY NOTE LEAD LECTURE: 10.30 HRS- 11.30 HRS

Title: 'Power of genomic sequencing, possibility of next generation sequencers and importance of post genome analyses'. Prof. Kawarabayasi Yutaka Group Leader, Functional Genomics Division, Kyushu University, Japan

HIGH TEA: 11.30 HRS- 12.00 HRS

Dr. Vipul Gohel, Sr. Scientist, Genencor International, Danisco, India (12.00 Hrs - 12.30 Hrs)

Dr. Tejas Kulkarni, Dept. of Biotechnology, Lund University, Sweden (12.30 Hrs - 1.00 Hrs)

Dr. Onkar Tiwari , Scientist, DBT, Govt. of India (1.00 Hrs-1.15 Hrs)

BRAINSTORMING SESSION ON FUTURE BIO-FUEL 14.30 Hrs- 15.00 Hrs Dr. Sangeeta Negi, Senior Scientist, Los Alamos

National Laboratory, Los Alamos, USA Title: "Molecular strategies to enhance photosynthetic efficiency and solar to biomass conversion in microalgae"

Panel Discussion & Interaction with students, Valedictory function: (15.00 HRS to 16.00 Hrs) CORRESPONDENCE ADDRESS: Organizing Secretary , AMBF-2012 Dept. of Microbiology, M. D. University, Rohtak-124001, Ph: 01262393352; Mob: 9996303126; 8813866019 E-mail : <u>osambf2012@gmail.com</u> International Research Colloquium on 'Advances in Microbial Biotechnology: Future prospects'' (AMBF-2012)

ASSOCIATION OF MICROBIOLOGISTS OF INDIA ROHTAK-UNIT



(November 20, 2012)



Organized by DEPARTMENT OF MICROBIOLOGY MAHARSHI DAYANAND UNIVERSITY ROHTAK-124001 HARYANA



ASSOCIATION OF MICROBIOLOGISTS OF INDIA **ABOUT UNIVERSITY**

The Association of Microbiologists of India established in 1938 is one of the oldest and reputed scientific organizations of the country. its inception, it has contributed Since significantly towards development of microbiology, particularly in areas of research teaching and commerce in country. The Association publishes a quarterly journal, "Indian Journal of Microbiology" for the last 45 years and holds a National convention annually at one of the well established centers of microbiology in the country. At present, there are more than 2500 life and annual members and about 400 corporate members of the Association.

The Association of Microbiologists of India (AMI) was founded in 1938 to promote Microbiology to provide a common platform for and academicians and researchers working in different areas such as agriculture, human and animal health care, environment and industrial microbiology, food and molecular microbiology.

Maharshi Dayanand University. ab initio established as Rohtak University, Rohtak, came into existence by an Act No. 25 of 1975 of the Haryana Legislative Assembly in 1976 with the objective to promote inter-disciplinary higher education and research in the fields of environmental, ecological and life sciences. It was rechristened as Maharshi Dayanand University in 1977 after the name of a great visionary and social reformer, Maharshi Dayanand. It had a unitary and residential character in its nascent stage, but became an affiliating University in November 1978.

The University is located at Rohtak in the state of Haryana - about 75 kms from Delhi on Delhi-Hisar National Highway (NH-10), and is about 240 kms from Chandigarh, the State Capital. It is well connected both by rail as well as road. Rohtak is the education hub of the State with excellent facilities for education in all fields of knowledge. The University campus, spread over an area of over 665.44 acres, is well laid with state-of-the-art buildings and magnificent road network, and presents a spectacle of harmony in architecture and natural beauty.

Education is offered through its 36 departments. Besides, the University runs some programmes through its Indira Gandhi P.G. Regional Centre, Meerpur (Rewari) and University Institute of Law & Management Studies (ULIMS), Gurgaon.

THE DEPARTMENT

The Department of Microbiology was established in June, 2009, with objectives like providing education and training facilities, carrying out application oriented research, developing inhouse technologies and promoting consultancy services in various areas of Microbiology. The department currently offers Two M. Sc. Courses viz. M.Sc. Microbiology, M.Sc. Microbial Biotechnology and Ph.D. programme in various areas of Microbiology.

AMI UNIT AT Rohtak

Rohtak AMI Unit is one of the registered and recognized units of AMI established in 2010, having more than 100 members. We are annually holding 1-2 day sensitization programmes/seminars related with biotechnology and microbiology for the benefits of the members and non members.



International Research Colloquium



on

'Advances in Microbial Biotechnology: Future prospects (AMBF-2012) ASSOCIATION OF MICROBIOLOGISTS OF INDIA, ROHTAK-UNIT

Name: Dr/ Mr / Mrs / Ms_ Category :(Faculty/Scientist/ Research Scholars / Student)

Organization:

Department:

Designation:

AMI Member/Non Member (Please tick)-(If non member, are you interested to join AMI as Life Member/Annual Member: Yes/ No) Correspondence Address:

Pin:

Phone/Mobile:

E-mail:

Pre-Registration Fee: (Please tick)	
Categories	
Teachers & Scientists/Academic Delegates	Rs. 200
Students / Research Scholars	Rs. 100

On Spot Registration Fee: (Limited to 50 participants)

Categories		
Teachers & Scientists/Academic Delegates	Rs. 500	
Students / Research Scholars	Rs. 200	

Payment Method: (Only Cash)_ Amount:

Name: Place: Dated:

Signature:
